Covet: Exquisite Earrings

Posted on March 2, 2011

0


Diamond & Chrysoprase Round Drop Earrings from Elizabeth Showers

Don’t you hate it when you find something that is perfect, that you want so badly and then you see the price tag and your heart sinks? Gilt Groupe just crushed me with a pair of earrings.

These earrings are striking. Made with 18K yellow gold and round chrysoprase with pave diamond maltese cross details, I skipped a beat at first glance. Unlike emeralds, my birthstone, which derives its color from the presence of chromium, chrysoprase has trace amounts of nickel compounds that provide its tints and tones. I am crazy for green. It’s such a fabulous color and each shade have its own distinct characteristic.

I want these because they are dainty and ethereal yet robust. I would make them the centerpiece of an outfit. LBD with little to no detailing, hair up and no necklace.

The design is reminiscent of royal jewelry. And the price agrees. The original cost is $2,750 but for a limited time it was being sold at $1,379. Amazingly, even at that figure, it sold out.

Posted in: Covet, Jewelry