Boston Common Magazine Insights

Posted on March 4, 2011

0


Boston Common Magazine - Spring 2011

From September through December, I was given the opportunity to intern at a fantastic lifestyle and fashion magazine. Not only was I able to work  and learn from some of the best people in the biz, I also saw one of my oldest dreams come true. Being able to see my name in print, not accompanying an opinion or comment on an inaccuracy in the local Metro newspaper, was one of the biggest thrills of my life. Being a part of something larger than me feels like there are bigger and better things out there, just waiting for me to come and get them.

The newest issue of Boston Common Magazine has several articles that I had a hand working on, by way of researching, interviewing or writing up. The magazine’s website has also posted a few from the print magazine as well as pieces that I wrote specifically for the site. Please check them out and let me know what you think.

  • Where to Eat Right Now: 5 new restaurants on our radar.
  • Boston’s Sexiest: According to People, we’ve got a monopoly on the world’s sexiest men.
  • Beauty Find: Skoah and Sachajuan: Two of our favorite unisex product lines by way of Canada and Sweden.
  • Sperry Spirit: Our favorite boat-shoe brand drops its anchor in Boston.
  • Drink This: The Double Dare: Shake up this spicy yet sweet libation with just the right amount of heat.
  • Eco-Friendly Wheels: Derringer and Equinox team up to offer a stylish new eco-bike.
  • Calendar

Cute story: On one of my work days, I had to scour the Garment District for a leprechaun hat. I warned the editor-in-chief that Shaq has a big head, it may not fit him. Unfortunately, the hat was scrapped and is not found in the magazine. But it was fun to shop in honor of Shaq!

Posted in: Magazines