Charitable Fashion: American Red Cross

Posted on March 13, 2011

0


Originally I was going to post about MS because it is MS Awareness Week but after Friday’s events, I decided to change focus. A powerful 8.6 earthquake struck Sendai, Japan causing damage and lost lives. The earthquake generated a tsunami that traveled well across the Pacific, leaving Hawaii and the western coast of the continental US to declare warnings and evacuate. If you would like to make a donation to the American Red Cross to support disaster relief efforts, you can do so by texting REDCROSS to 90999. This will incur a $10 charge to your cell phone bill. To learn more, click Text 2 Help.

If you would like to make a donation of $25 and receive a free book, check out the Writers for the Red Cross. I guess you could say it is akin to last week’s TOMS post about “purchase with purpose”.

Side-note: In 2010 when an earthquake shook Haiti and the news was reporting a tsunami could hit Jamaica, I was vacationing in Jamaica and my roommate worried about me. Fast-forward 14 months and my roommate just happens to be in Hawaii when the current tragedy occurred and I end up being worried for her. Thankfully she and her family are well and will be returning safely tomorrow. Well, it is my roommate so she actually did happen to injure herself and not let a tsunami do it. See you soon, K!

