Bringing Home the Birkin

Posted on March 21, 2011

0


If my obsession with accessories wasn’t enough, I just finished a lovely memoir about a man and his career reselling the hardest bag to get your hands on. Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World’s Most Coveted Handbag is a first-hand account of Michael Tonello’s globe-trotting life centered solely on acquiring Hermès Birkin bags. The book is entertaining due to Tonello’s inviting and engaging tone. You feel like you are traveling alongside him from Cape Code to Barcelona, all over France to Germany, Italy and Greece then round to South America and Asia too. It was a fun read that made me wish for a more nomadic life where I was my own boss. It also made me want to head over to Boylston Street to hit up the local Hermès and check out the wares myself. Bringing Home the Birkin makes for a great light summer beach or rainy day indoors read. bringinghomethebirkin.com

Posted in: Purses/Bags